Search for people, departments, or email addresses.

« Back To Search Results

  Karen Tei Yamashita

Karen Tei Yamashita

Professor Emerita

831 459-8994


Humanities Division

Literature Department
Creative Writing Program
Critical Race and Ethnic Studies

Professor Emerita


Latin American & Latino Studies
East Asian Studies
Critical Race and Ethnic Studies


Asian American Pacific Islander History

Humanities Building 1

Humanities Academic Services

Karen Tei Yamashita is the author of eight books, including I Hotel, finalist for the National Book Award, and most recently,Sansei & Sensibility, all published by Coffee House Press.  Recipient of the National Book Foundation 2021 Medal for Distinguished Contributions to Literature and a US Artists Ford Foundation Fellowship, she is currently Dickson Emeriti Professor of Literature and Creative Writing at the University of California, Santa Cruz.  



History and anthropology of Japanese immigration to Brazil; Asian American literature; modern fiction; playwriting

Creative Writing Fiction, Asian American Literature

2021 National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters

2021 Edward A. Dickson Emeritus Professorship

2018 John dos Passos Award for Literature

2012 - 15 UC Presidential Chair, Feminist Critical Race & Ethnic Studies, co-holder with Professor Bettina Aptheker, Feminist Studies

2012 Association for Asian American Studies Prose Book Award for I Hotel
2011 - 12 United States Artists Ford Fellowship
2011 American Book Award for I Hotel, Before Columbus Foundation
2011 Asian American Literary Award, First Finalist in Fiction, I Hotel, Asian American Writers' Workshop, NY
2011 Asian American Members' Choice Award, I Hotel, Asian American Writers' Workshop, NY
2010 National Book Award Finalist in Fiction for I Hotel
2010 California Book Award, Gold Medal in Fiction for I Hotel, Commonwealth Club, San Francisco
2010 Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association Award in Fiction for I Hotel
2009 Chancellor's Achievement Award for Diversity, UCSC
2001 Excellence in Teaching Award, UCSC
2000 College Commendations for outstanding service to the Kresge College community, UCSC
1998 Finalist, Paterson Fiction Prize for Tropic of Orange, by the Poetry Center, Paterson, NJ
1998 Alumni Award for Distinguished Achievement, Carleton College
1992 Janet Heidinger Kafka Award for Through the Arc of the Rain Forest
1991 American Book Award for Through the Arc of the Rain Forest
1979 First Place, James Clavell American-Japanese Short Story Contest, for "Asaka-no-Miya"
1975 First Place, Amerasia Journal Short Story Contest, for "The Bath"
1975 First Place, Rafu Shimpo Short Story Contest, for "Tucano"
1975 First Place, Gremio Literario: Colonia Short Story Contest, for Portuguese translation of "Tucano"

  • Sansei & Sensibility, Coffee House Press, 2020
  • Letters to Memory, Coffee Houses Press, 2017
  • Anime Wong: Fictions of Performance, Coffee House Press, 2014
  • I Hotel, Coffee House Press, 2010
  • Circle K Cycles, Coffee House Press, 2001
  • Tropic of Orange, Coffee House Press 1997
  • Brazil-Maru, Coffee House Press, 1992
  • Through the Arc of the Rain Forest, Coffee House Press, 1990

If you have the proper permissions, you can edit this entry

This campus directory is the property of the University of California at Santa Cruz. To protect the privacy of individuals listed herein, in accordance with the State of California Information Practices Act, this directory may not be used, rented, distributed, or sold for commercial purposes. For more details, please see the university guidelines for assuring privacy of personal information in mailing lists and telephone directories. If you have any questions please contact the ITS Support Center.